2017-2018 Wing Executive and Board of Directors

Honorary President - Charles (Chuck) B. Hazleton


Chuck served in the RCAF/CF for forty years and with the Federal Public Service for five years for a continuous period of 45 years. He became a Member-at-Large of the RCAF Association in 1980 and joined 888 (Komox) RCAF Wing in 1995. He served on a myriad of Wing Committees and became President in 2005. Chuck considers it an absolute honour to become the Wing Honorary President.

President - Dan Coutu


Dan retired as a Chief Warrant Officer from the Canadian Armed Forces in December 2015 after 35 and a half years of loyal and dedicated service as an Air Force Firefighter. Relocating from Winnipeg to Comox and after a short period of rest, Dan soon joined 888 Wing and the housing crew and was selected for 2nd Vice in January 2017.

1st Vice President - Rodney Nichol


2nd Vice President (and 386 RCACS Rep) – Jim King


Immediate Past President - Ted Gibbon


Ted first arrived at Comox on 15 May 1956 in a Fleet Canuck from the Victoria Flying Club as an aviation cadet in the Royal Canadian Navy while on his first solo cross country flight and departed the same day. He returned in the summer of 1977 from Europe and assumed command of Utility Squadron 33 on 30 April 1978. Leaving in January 1981 he returned again in August 1986 to command the Base until August 1989. Retiring from the Canadian Forces in 1992 after 38 years’ service in the Navy, Air Force he returned once again to Comox in 1994 and joined 888 Wing in 1995. Ted was elected to the Wing executive in 2004, served as President from July 2006 to the end of June 2007 and completed his commitment as immediate Past President in 2008. Ted received the Air Force Association of Canada’s Distinguished Service Award in 2010 and the Minister of Veteran’s Affairs commendation in 2014.

Treasurer – Daryl Wright


Daryl joined the Wing in May 1996 and it seems he has been our treasurer ever since! He continues to ensure that we "keep our head above water".

Secretary – Jan Hogan


Jan was Secretary of 888 Wing for a number of years and has resumed the duties in 2014. She has also spent many years in various roles with the Air Cadet League.

Membership Chair - Len Kuchynski


Len was Editor of Contrails for several years and did an excellent job. We are delighted he has agreed to take over the Membership post.

Housing Chair - Bruce Elford


Bruce joined

Welfare Representative - Colleen Boudreau


Colleen retired from the Canadian Forces Dental Services in 1994 having served for 20 years. She has done some volunteering with Special Needs personnel in the Valley, has been a Wing member for a few years and looks forward to her role as Welfare Officer.

Publicity Chair - Joyce Hallowell


Joyce joined 888 Wing in 1982. She was Ladies Auxiliary President 3 times, Wing President in 1986, served 3 different times as the Entertainment Chair, and a term as Housing Chair. During her tenure as Publicity Chair, Joyce initiated the Wing emails and Website.

Sgt-at-Arms – Glen Hooge


Glen joined the military in 1964 and retired in the Comox Valley in 1995. Active In the cadet summer training for many years he has also taught disabled skiing in the community for 20 years and is coordinator for a National ski week serving our ill and injured military Veterans.

Contrails Editor - Jan Hogan


Jan was Secretary of 888 Wing for a number of years. She has also spent many years in various roles with the Air Cadet League.